History & Heritage
Camelsdale School was originally built in 1904 and modernised in 1964 and then again in 2004/05.
The school has seven classrooms, a large hall, group room, library, offices, quiet room, music studio, dining hall and staffroom.
In 2009, as part of our reorganisation to become a primary school, the old original classrooms and main corridor were completely refurbished and a new entrance hall, lobby, children’s kitchen and cloakroom added on.
There are two tarmac playgrounds and a large playing field with a wonderful view.
The young children think we have a magnificent garden to play in and the Diamond Jubilee maze is extremely popular!
In 2016, we started building a new production kitchen and dining hall so that we can provide hot meals at lunchtime. This was completed in 2018 and is named “Humphrey’s Café”.
Camelsdale boasts a superb environmental forest school area with large pond, meadow area, bird hide, outdoor museum, fire circle, eco shed, mud kitchen and outdoor classroom. We have installed challenging adventure play trails, safer surfacing, a playhouse and a Bebop Tower with slide. 2021 saw us fundraise for a new playground equipment project - some of which has now been completed and installed - swing bars, artificial grass under trees, trim trail replaced. We are currently fundraising for Phase 3 of our Playground Project - the maze areas of our grounds.
The children enjoy playing in the boat, train and around the amphitheatre. The Memorial Garden is a quiet area for reflection. The young children think we have a magnificent garden to play in and the Diamond Jubilee maze is extremely popular!
We are all proud of our school grounds—they are one of our unique selling points! Make sure you have a look at our School Grounds booklet - under Handbooks in the Parents & Carers section.